New York Collegiate Baseball League begins play

The New York Collegiate Baseball League, founded in 1978, is a summer wood bat development league for professional baseball.  Major League Baseball funds a portion of the leagues annual budget. The league gives college players who have not yet signed a professional contract the opportunity to develop their skills at a higher level of play, gain experience with wood bats, and be evaluated by scouts.  The NYCBL is located in scenic Upstate New York.

Teams play a 46 game regular season schedule with games beginning on May 30th and ending in late July.  All games are 9 innings, with doubleheaders scheduled as two 9 inning games. The All-Star game is played in mid July, and the League Championship Series concludes in early August.

Two teams are located in Syracuse, great enjoyable family fun.  Catch games this season, via the league schedule here:

Check out the future of professional baseball this summer!

Former NYCBLers currently in the Major Leagues include: Hunter Pence, Rajai Davis, Michael Fiers, J.D. Martinez along with over 50 current Minor Leaguers.